Mapping Projects, poeple, and orgs: Software to map square and bimodal networks

Sent to Socnet.

Hi,
I sketched on a napkin the other day a “map” of social innovaiton at my campus.
On it I had as “nodes”
  • – Projects
  • – Actors (like students, faculty, centers)
  • – Amorphous constituencies like “faculty” from which actors could come, or whcih projects could serve or interest.
I drew some ties for relations like
  • – created
  • – fund
  • – are interested in
I was thinking, I could make a “figure” of this, but any new data would involve manual additions.
Is there a software tool anyone recommends?
In mu ind, it is like a hybrid of a square matrix, like all the actors to the actors, and a bimodal network, actors or constituencies to projects.
Plus, I was thinking of differing relations which could be visualized.  So, maybe behind the visualization are different matrices that can be added or removed from the visualization.
Finally, I was thinking of this evolving over time.
I realize some of this relationships may not theoretically make sense with some kinds of lay out algorithims.  For example, I am not sure what it would mean to try to find the most central node when there are both actor-actor and actor-object (bimodal) relations, but at the moment, I was more looking for a tool to visualize these relations and dynamically update data to create newer visualizations.
I added a picture if that helps…
IMG_20140212_113043_381
 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Orgs Stuff (theory, science, studies), Social Networks

Please share your thoughts!