Virgin unveils spaceship designs

Elijah’s Godfather and my good friend Vishant sent me this little gem (hat tip to V).

BBC NEWS | Science/Nature | Virgin unveils spaceship designs
“I think its very important that we make a genuine commercial success of this project,” he told a news conference in New York.

“If we do, I believe well unlock a wall of private sector money into both space launch systems and space technology.

“This could rival the scale of investment in the mobile phone and internet technologies after they were unlocked from their military origins and thrown open to the private sector.”

here is a picture:

SpaceShipTwo (Original Name)

Well, as I said to V, all that incredible wealth generated for the top 1% since the Reagan revolution has gotta get spent on something. You can only bu so many handbags and islands, don’t you know. He seemed ticked. Like I was supposed to be thrilled that maybe my son (his godson) would get filthy rich enough to afford this little bauble. Course I am being pissy. Every little boy (an girl?) dreams of being an astronaut. Just seems like you should do it for scientific or nationalist reasons, not self-amusement.

Where is my jetpack? I thought I would have one by now. (See this book. and this song by Jill Sobule Jetpack (track 2). )

Who is going to regulate this new industry, or will it transcend the earthly bounds of economics and society as well as gravity? Unlikely, I think. There is flight paths, insurance, consumer protection, and, of course, security. Can Osama Bin Laden buy one of these?

Leave a comment

Filed under economic sociology, humor, innovation, Research

Please share your thoughts!

