Computer thoughts

So, I get to request a new machine this summer.  This is the first time I am at the front of the line (due to my employment status).  As I have become more of a power user due to necessity of work, I am much more sensitive to the kind of machine I use.

BU will probably get a Latitude D83o 0r D630 according to my inside source.  Looking over the sites, I noticed that there seem to be some concerns about the screen width on the 630.  The 830 may not have an optical drive?

But there are other concerns.

– Is a tablet a good technology for me?  I need to really use it before I can decide and that may be tricky.  (Also, does BU min specs include smae level of graphics for a tablet?)

– Is a mac and then use parallel software (or whatever that is called) to run network analysis software.  I think network stuff is the only PC specific software I need.  Do any network researchers use macs?  Can I ask socnet?

– Do I need extra video graphics for Second Life or future video editing (for students, for qualitative data).  I think I will move more into students doing video or multimedia work.

– Do I need a second Monitor for my office to show things to students and/or for more screen real estate for writing or for larger network mapping.

– What is the best desk configuration for me?  Does that include a docking station? Since I actually don’t type properly, I prefer to have screen and hands nearby so I can glance back and forth easier.  Also, For a tall guy, I find I like to sit high up and right on top of my machine.  Probably terrible, ergonometry.  (word?)

– It looks like I can request software above and beyond standard package.  Oh really…  Should I ask for different network software so I can see what is best for me and for students?   That might include NetMiner, UCINET/Pajek, and InFlowWhat else is out there? Like this high end software: http://www.tomsawyer.com/home/index.php

1 Comment

Filed under Computer add ins, Networks, Research, Social Networks

One response to “Computer thoughts

  1. Pingback: Desktop Computers » Computer thoughts The Nets We Weave

Please share your thoughts!

