My first try at a wiki…

The need to better sort and aggregate a raft of free writing between me and a collaborator (Ted over in Singapore) led us to try wikis.  This is after collating 19 pages in a word file of emails back and forth.

On the surface, I see the big advantage being the ability for each wikipage to be a persistent text that can be more easily edited and modified than email threads.  The hyperlinking also seems like a nice feature.

As I have been fretting over how many different areas of research and schoalrly literature I draw on, and finding myself stymied by the lurking sense that I know less than I have forgotten or let go rusty, I thought it might be an effective way to organize my own core knowledge for use in classes and research writing.  I had been day dreaming about my own private encyclopedia.  Maybe a wiki would function similarly.

Wikispaces, which we used because OSWC had used it, has blog integration (cool).

I wonder if select pages can be made public?

Mine is private for now, but maybe I will go public if it seems valuable or worthwhile (and not crap).

For a title, I played with networks-movements- organizations.  So its called netmoveorg for now.  Lame probably, but oh well.

Leave a comment

Filed under participatory technology, Research, writing

Please share your thoughts!

