Don’t do what I did- Beta

I have this running joke about how I made life difficult for myself while doing my PhD.

I call it the “DOn’t Do What I Did” brochure.  I mentioned this line today to a research acquaintance and he thought I meant- “Don’t Study what I study.”  So, in an act of reassuring him I am not so egotistical, i produced the beta version of the brochure:

Also, I made a joking reference to “don’t do what I did.” I think you misunderstood me. Life is too short and being a scholar is too important to get worried about turf wars. I welcome our mutual and complimentary interests. I have a running joke about how I am the poster child for how not to do a dissertation.

  • – Don’t do it across an ocean.
  • – Don’t use a method you never studied
  • – Don’t do mixed method.
  • – Don’t have kid(s).
  • – Don’t teach FT while dissertating.

And so on…

Leave a comment

Filed under life, PhD, writing

Please share your thoughts!

