Nodes and Notes (I’ve Died and Gone to Heaven)

So, a Senior, who took my “Six Degrees” foundation seminar many years ago is a dancer.  She tells me she is choreographing a piece that will link the idea of connectedness and thresholds into a dance piece in March.

Specifically, she wants to express the idea that the little things we do can spread and ripple out across the world, a world bound up by far-flung networks that still have short paths.  She didn’t quite say that, but that is where she was headed.  Like, not “just the six degree effect” she said.

I’ve died and gone to heaven.  This is the perfect intersection of my love for music and for netcentric thinking.

Of course, I immediately thought of the great John Guare play, Six Degrees of Separation.  (Yeah Wendy West for directing it back at Carleton!).

She is interested in spoken word OR music.  I started an RDIO playlist of ideas.  I’ll add more.
And of course, I’ll be sure to ask the good folks at SOCNET, still the lifeblood of much netcentric talk and thought.

1 Comment

Filed under Bucknell, digital culture, economic sociology, Network Society, Networks

One response to “Nodes and Notes (I’ve Died and Gone to Heaven)

  1. Update. Student found her own spoken piece, the inaugural poem by Blanco that she mixed with Trent Reznor’s Oscar-winning soundtrack from the film The Social Network. Here is a piano version some nice soul put on you tube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fEWulYlYuKE

Please share your thoughts!

